STRATHCLYDE PARK REGATTA 23-24 APRIL 2016 -- Results Report

posted by Susanne Hunter - 26 Apr 2016, 5:30 p.m.

Seven Inverness junior rowers returned triumphant with medals from Strathclyde Park Regatta at the weekend. Joseph Wright dominated the Open J15 Singles event to claim gold, while Heather Gordon led the W J15 Girls' Singles final right down the course until Robyn Patton of St Andrew BC fought back in the last twenty strokes and caught her at the line by just 0.3 of a second!

Inverness Novice Doubles Rebecca Setford & Noirin Ghiollagain and Rosie Young & Lucy Faulkner both won their qualifying heats with clear water but found themselves neck and neck in the final, chasing Loch Lomond BC, and crossing the line half a second apart to take silver and bronze respectively.

Angus Thomson & Joseph Wright teamed up for the Open J16 Doubles in an 8-boat final which included crews from all over Scotland as well as Gibraltar. After leading for the first 500m they were overtaken by Aberdeen Schools RA but maintained their position to take silver about four lengths ahead of Cambois from Gibraltar.

The IRC Novice Women's Eight, made up of seven juniors and one senior, qualified for the final with a strong 2nd place behind Edinburgh University. In the final IRC was level with Edinburgh and Glasgow Unis at 500m when the students pushed ahead and it was a flat out race for the line. Inverness finished third just 1.5 seconds behind Glasgow and 10 seconds clear of the Clyde ARC /Strathclyde Uni composite, Aberdeen BC and Clydesdale ARC.

Jane Patterson of IRC started strongly in her R2 Single Sculls race to finish third out of seven scullers. Later in the day she finished second in the Lightweight Singles behind Elvira Drummond of Berwick ARC. IRC Novice Men's Double, Joe Tebbutt & Angus Thomson, won their heat very convincingly and went through to finish fourth in their final.

The next event for Inverness rowers will be Castle Semple Regatta at Lochwinnoch in mid May, leading to the Scottish Championships in early June.

Inverness RC SPR 2016 Results and Medallists:
W J14 2X 4th Jess Tebbutt & Hannah Luke
O J15 2X Heat 4th Fraser Wallace & Alexander Todd
W J15 1X Heat 1st Heather Gordon
W J15 1X Final 2nd Heather Gordon
O J15 1X Heat 1st Joseph Wright
O J15 1X Final 1st Joseph Wright
W J16 4X 4th Rosie Young, Heather Gordon, Rhiannon Hopcroft, Noirin Ghiollagain
O J16 2X 2nd Joseph Wright & Angus Thomson
O J16 1X 3rd Joseph Wright
4th Angus Thomson
W J18 4X 7th Hannah Campbell, Lucy Faulkner, Rosie Young, Shona Gilmour
W J18 2X Heat 2nd Hannah Campbell, Shona Gilmour
W J18 2X Final 6th Hannah Campbell, Shona Gilmour
W Nov2X Heat 1st Rosie Young & Lucy Faulkner
W Nov2X Heat 1st Rebecca Setford & Noirin Ghiollagain
W Nov2X Heat 4th Rhiannon Hopcroft & Maya Doughty
W Nov2X Final 2nd Rebecca Setford & Noirin Ghiollagain
W Nov2X Final 3rd Rosie Young & Lucy Faulkner
O Nov2X Heat 1st Joe Tebbutt & Angus Thomson
O Nov2X Final 4th Joe Tebbutt & Angus Thomson
W Nov4X Heat 3rd Rebecca Setford, Maya Doughty, Carla Madigan, Lucy Faulkner, Cox Jess Tebbutt
O Nov4X Heat 3rd Fraser Wallace, Robert Gordon, Alexander Todd, Joe Tebbutt, Cox Susanne Standish-Hunter
O Nov4X Final 6th Ditto
W Nov 8+ Heat 3rd Rebecca Setford, Lucy Faulkner, Rosie Young, Kristina MacIver, Heather Gordon, Carla Madigan, Maya Doughty, Noirin Ghiollagain, Cox Susanne Standish-Hunter
W Nov 8+ Final 3rd Ditto
W Res2 1X 3rd Jane Patterson
W Lwt 1X 2nd Jane Patterson
O MasGH 1X 2nd Tom Baker

Showing the Specific Article Requested


Body Texts