Hawco Sprint 2008 - Results report

posted by Roy Sinclair - 18 Aug 2008

An excellent entry was received for the INVERNESS HAWCO SPRINT 2008 when 95 races were contested by a fine representation of clubs from throughout Scotland and from Bradford School, members of which all achieved success in the events offered. Senior, veteran, adaptive and particularly junior members excelled in the bright and sunny conditions on Saturday 16th August on the superb rowing waters of the Caledonian Canal in Inverness.

For the first time, an adaptive single sculling event was included in the programme in which Graeme Stewart from Loch Lomond Rowing Club was successful in both his races against local opposition.

Inverness crews featured in many of the events winning a total of eight events throughout a day of fine competitive racing which included re-rows in Mens Novice Coxed Fours and Womens Veteran Double Sculls following dead heats in these events.

Winners are listed below as follows:-

ADAPTIVE 1x Loch Lomond RC - Graeme Stewart
Gen Nov 2x Loch Lomond RC - Tom Claxton, Martin Claxton
Gen R2 2x Heart of Scotland BC/Loch Lomond RC - Alastair Docwra, Iain Docwra
GIRLS J12 2x Castle Semple RC - Kirsty Hiddleston, Katie Rodgers
Girls Junior 13 1x Castle Semple RC - Emma McDonald
Girls Junior 13 2x Castle Semple RC - Caitlin Horsburgh, Emma McDonald
Girls Junior 14 1x Castle Semple RC - Emma McDonald
Girls Junior 16 2x Castle Semple RC - Claire Hiddleston, Jessica McHarg
Men Nov 1x Inverness RC - Colin Sinclair
Men Nov 2x Heart of Scotland BC - Gordon McGrath,Graeme Cunningham
Men O 1x Abedeen BC - Andrew Crosland
Men O 2x Heart of Scotland BC - Brook McLaughlin, Roger Ewing
Men R2 1x Inverness RC - Colin Sinclair
Men R2 2x Heart of Scotland BC - Brook McLaughlin, Roger Ewing
Men R2 4+ Aberdeen BC - J McKee, A Strachan, S Clark, B Garvin
Men R2 8+ Aberdeen BC - Davidson, Owens, Mathieson, Steel, Turner, McConnell, Gardner, Meldrum
Men Vet A 1x Aberdeen BC - Andrew Crosland
Men Vet ABC 4+ Aberdeen BC - P Turner, J McConnell, N Gardner, N Meldrum
Men Vet BC 4x+ Loch LomondRC - Alasair Docwra, Steven Whyte, Thomas Gethin, Martin Claxton
Men Vet DEF 1x Nithsdale RC - Gordon Kerr
Men Vet DEF 2x George Watsons BC/St Andrew BC - Boyd Whyte,John Munro
Men Vet DEF 4+ Aberdeen BC - D Davidson, R Owens, R Mathieson, J Steel
Mixed 4+ InvernessRC/Heart of Scotland BC/Strathclyde Park RC - Aillie Ord, Hazel Smith, Andy McDowall, Ross Doak
Mixed Nov 2x Inverness RC - Katie Van-Exan, Mathew Stevenson
Mixed Nov 4x+ Loch Lomond RC - Emma Rankin, Eva Rankin, Steven Whyte, Martin Claxton
Open Junior 12 1x Castle Semple RC - Alex Afuakwah

Open Junior 12 2X Castle Semple RC - Laura McDonald, Kirsty Hiddleston
Open Junior 13 1x Strathclyde Park RC - Pete Byrne
Open Junior 13 2x Strathclyde Park RC - Graham Ord, Pete Byrne
Open Junior 14 1x Bradford School- Rowan Arthur
Open Junior 14 4x+
Castle Semple RC - Louise Hiddleston, Chris Afuakwah, Finn Campbell, Emma Brander
Open Junior 16 1x Stirling RC - Gregor Hall
Open Junior 16 2x Bradford School - Josh Croft, Jonny Waite
Open Junior 16 4x+
Bradford School - Jonny Waite, James McWhinney, Dominic Marshall, Josh Croft
Open Junior 18 1x Stirling - Gregor Hall
Women Nov 1x Loch Lomond RC - Emma Rankin
Women Nov 2x Castle Semple RC - Kirsty Sanders and Ailidh Campbell
Women Nov 4x+ Inverness RC - Rachael Wells, Joanna Shepherd, Kirsty Guild, Eilean MacKenzie, Adam Geddes
Women R2 1x Castle Semple RC - Rachel Robertson
Women R2 2x Inverness RC - Hazel Geddes, Katie Van-Exan
Women Vet 1x Loch Lomond RC - Eva Rankin
Women Vet 2x Strathclyde Park RC/nverness IRC - Hazel Smith, Aillie Ord
Women Vet 4+ Inverness RC/Strathclyde Park RC Susanne Hunter, Hazel Smith, Aillie Ord, Hazel Geddes, Adam Geddes

Other Inverness crews were also involved in a number of extremely close finishes throughout a day of fine competitive racing.

Prizes were presented by George Hawco, Director of event sponsor Hawco of Inverness

Showing the Specific Article Requested


Body Texts