Aberdeen Eights Head of the River and Aberdeen Universities Boat Race

posted by Roy R Sinclair ( Vice President - 4 Mar 2007

Saturday 3rd March saw two Inverness eights successfully taking part in the Aberdeen Eights Head of the River on the River Dee. The Inverness Mixed Eight of Hazel Geddes (bow), Ken Andrews, Alastair Duff, Duncan Alexander, Hazel Smith, Tom Baker, Ailie Ord (Strathclyde Park RC), Susanne Standish-Hunter (stroke) and Athol Wallace (ASRA) convincingly won their event category in Division 1 by a margin of 23 seconds against a crew from Aberdeen Boat Club. In Division 2, Andrews, Duff, Alexander (stroke), Baker and Standish-Hunter (coxing) were joined by Roy Sinclair, Greig Fulton, Dave Rothwell and John Sharkey to contest an extremely close Mens Veteran Eights category recording a finishing time of 12 minutes 1 second, 9 seconds faster than their Aberdeen Boat Club opponents but losing out to the higher age handicap allowance which classified the Aberdeen crew as winners. Alan Sinclair, was a member the Aberdeen University Boat Club's R2 Eight which won this event category in the excellent time of 10 minutes 7 seconds, whilst his younger brother Colin teamed up with Aberdeen's Andrew Crossland to record a quick time of 12 minutes 12 seconds in their double scull. Two Inverness oarspersons took part in the Aberdeen Asset Management Aberdeen Universities Boat Races on Sunday 4th March. Hazel Smith was a member of the Robert Gordon University Boat Club's Alumini Eight which had a fine 2 lengths win over their Aberdeen University opponents whilst in the main race, Alan Sinclair was a member of the Aberdeen University Boat Club crew which posted an outstanding new record time of 8 minutes 1 second to convincingly reclaim the trophy which was won in 2006 by Robert Gordon University.

Showing the Specific Article Requested


Body Texts