posted by Roy R Sinclair ( Vice President - 18 Feb 2007

An excellent entry of 61 crews was received for the Tenon Ltd Inverness Eights and Small Boats Head which took place in generally dry, sunny and calm conditions on Saturday 19th February on the superb rowing waters of the Caledonian Canal in Inverness. Rowed in two divisions over the 4.5km course, the first race started at 12noon with the second at 2.30pm.

Inverness crews featured in the winners lists. In Division 2, the Inverness womens crew of Hazel Geddes (bow), Cathy Mordaunt , Mary Clouston, Carolyn Ward, Hazel Smith, Mandy Towrie, Susanne Standish-Hunter (stroke) and Meghan Hunter (cox) produced a fine performance in winning the Womens Veteran Eights category in a fine time of 18 minutes 27.84 seconds, with Alastair Duff in Division 2 also winning the Mens Veteran C Single Sculls in an adjusted time of time of 19 minutes 33.40 seconds. Inverness member Alan Sinclair, rowing for Aberdeen University Boat Club, also featured in the winners list with his Eights crew winning the Mens R1 Eights in an excellent time of 15 minutes 23.65 seconds after a tense ding-dong tussle with students from Glasgow University.

Other Inverness crews which performed with distinction were the Mens Veteran Eight which took second place in the Veteran C Eights with an adjusted time of 16 minutes 34.99 seconds and Tom Baker's second place adjusted time of 19 minutes 0.99 seconds in Veteran E/F single sculls. Fastest mens crew of the day was the Mens Open Eight from Glasgow University Boat Club with a time of 15 minutes 21.25 seconds whilst the Womens R1 Eight from Edinburgh University Boat Club was fastest womens crew of the day with a time of 17 minutes 39.98 seconds.

As a prelude to the Tenon Eights event, the Scottish Senior and Junior Time Trial Assessment was held earlier in the day with athletes from as far away as Hereford taking part. Fastest crew in the Time Trial was the Mens Coxless Pair of Alan Sinclair from Belmaduthy and New Zealander Andrew Crossland with an excellent time of 19 minutes 3.65 seconds over the longer 5000 metre course. Fastest womens crew was Elizabeth Crighton from Aberdeen University Boat Club with a fine time of 21 minutes 49.69 seconds in her single scull.

Full Results
Prizes were presented to winning crews by President Paddy Walsh on behalf of event sponsor Tenon Ltd.

Showing the Specific Article Requested


Body Texts